Skip to main content
Skip to main content.

Jury Trial Schedule:

The jury trial scheduled for Thursday, June 3, 2020 at 8:30 a.m. in Department 2 located at 532 Oak Street, Colusa, CA will proceed as scheduled your appearance is mandatory. Thank you.

Appeals

The following information will assist you with the general guidelines on appeal procedures. The information on this page is not intended to be comprehensive in nature, but to act as an overview. You are advised to thoroughly read California Rules of Court, rules 8.702-8.709 and rules 8.780-8.793. The court clerks cannot assist you. You should direct any questions you have to an attorney of your own choosing. The Colusa Superior court is part of the 3rd District Court of Appeals.

Civil Appeals

Limited Civil 

A Limited Civil appeal (for disputes involving $25,000 or less, including unlawful detainers), must file your notice of appeal within 30 days. The time period begins after the trial court clerk mails or a party serves either a document called a "Notice of Entry" of the trial court judgment or a file-stamped copy of the judgment, or within 90 days after the entry of judgment, whichever is earlier. This deadline cannot be extended.

For information on filing an appeal in a limited civil case, please review the Judicial Council form APP-101-INFO Information on Appeal Procedures for Limited Civil Appeals.   If your notice of appeal is late, the appellate division will not be able to consider your appeal.  

Judicial Council form APP-102 Notice of Appeal/Cross-Appeal (Limited Civil Case)  may be used to file your appeal.  File your appeal at the Clerk’s Office, 532 Oak Street, Colusa, CA  95932.

California Rules of Court, Rules 8.821 – 8.843 and 8.880 – 8.891, set forth the governing rules on procedures for limited civil appeals.

Unlimited Civil

Unlimited Civil appeals (disputes involving more than $25,000, including Unlawful Detainers, Probate, Family Law and Adoptions) must be filed with 60 days. The time period begins after the superior court clerk mails the party filing the appeal a notice of entry of judgment or a file-stamped copy of the judgment, showing the date either was mailed; 60 days after the appellant serves or is served by a party with a notice of entry of judgment or a file-stamped copy of the judgment, accompanied by a proof of service; or 180 days after entry of judgment.

For information on filing an appeal in an unlimited civil case, please review the Judicial Council form APP-001 Information on Appeal Procedures for Unlimited Civil Cases.  If your notice of appeal is filed late, your appeal will be dismissed.  

Judicial Council form APP-002 Notice of Appeal/Cross-Appeal (Unlimited Civil Cases)  may be used to file your appeal.  File your appeal at the Clerk’s Office, 532 Oak Street, Colusa, CA  95932.

California Rules of Court, Rules 8.100 – 8.278, set forth the governing rules on procedures for unlimited civil appeals.

For more information on the civil appeal process, visit Self-Help Appeals.

Small Claims

When you appeal a small claims judgment, you ask the superior court to change the small claims court judge's decision. You will have another court hearing and must present your case again. A small claims appeal is a "trial de novo" or "new trial." This means that the case is decided by a new judge from the beginning so you have to present your case all over again.

View more information on the small claims appeal process.

Please note: The filing of an appeal does NOT postpone the payment of your fine or any other condition of the sentence. If the fine is not paid by the date specified or any condition ordered by the court is not met, a warrant may be issued for your arrest or a civil collections process may be instituted against you. (Pen. Code, § 1467.)

Criminal Appeals

Nature of an Appeal

A party may appeal an unfavorable decision made in the trial court to the appellate division of the Superior Court. The appeal must be directed towards errors of law only. An appeal is not a retrial, and you will not be permitted to introduce new evidence.

Traffic

Traffic infraction appeals are filed within 30 days after the judge imposed the sentence.  File your appeal at the Clerk’s Office, 532 Oak Street, Colusa, CA  95932.

California Rules of Court, Rules 8.900 – 8.929, set forth the governing rules on the procedures for Infraction cases.  

Forms:
Below are the Judicial Council forms for Infractions.  These forms are available on line or can be obtained in the Traffic/Criminal Processing Division.

View more information on the traffic appeal process.

Misdemeanors

For information on filing an appeal in a misdemeanor case, please review the Judicial Council form CR-131-INFO Information on Appeal Procedures for Misdemeanors.  Misdemeanor appeals must be filed within 30 days after the trial court makes its final judgment or issues the order you are appealing. Judicial Council form CR-132 Notice of Appeal may be used to file your appeal. File your appeal at the Clerk’s Office, 532 Oak Street, Colusa, CA  95932.

California Rules of Court, Rules 8.800 – 8.816 and 8.850 – 8.890, set forth the governing rules on procedures for Misdemeanor appeals.

Felony

You must file your notice of appeal within 60 days after the rendition of judgment or the making of the order being appealed.

Timeline to Appeal:
For information on filing an appeal in a felony case, please consult with your attorney.  Felony appeals must be filed within 60 days after the trial court makes its final judgment or issues the order you are appealing.  

Judicial Council form CR-120 Notice of Appeal-Felony may be used to file your appeal.  File your appeal at the Clerk’s Office, 532 Oak Street, Colusa, CA  95932.

California Rules of Court, Rules 8.240 – 8.272 and 8.300 – 8.368, set forth the governing rules on procedures for felony appeals.

Forms: